Select Page

Australian Cyclist of the Year: Rohan Dennis

Australian Cyclist of the Year: Rohan Dennis

As the reigning time trial world champion and leader of both the Giro d’Italia and Vuelta a España in 2018, Rohan Dennis was crowned Australian Cyclist of the Year.


It seems an obvious choice: Rohan Dennis ticked off many elements of his to-do list in 2018, culminating in his stunning victory in Innsbruck ahead of Tom Dumoulin in the TT world championships. The 2015 winner of the ‘Oppy Medal’, named after Sir Hubert Opperman, has etched his name onto the trophy for a second time.

Another obvious candidate for the prestigious title that effectively denotes the ‘Australian Cyclist of the Year from all categories was Amanda Spratt. The Giro Rosa podium finisher (and stage winner) rounded out her amazing season with a silver medal in the road race at the world championships. The 31-year-old justifiably earned the title of ‘Elite Road Cyclist of the Year’, one of many categories in the annual awards.


– Below is a summary of the judges’ decisions for 2018. –

Duncan Murray (above), presided over his first Australian Cyclist of the Year awards as CEO of Cycling Australia.

Rohan Dennis, who recently became a father for the first time, wasn’t in attendance at the luncheon in Melbourne on 23 November but he was named as winner of the ‘Oppy Medal’ of 2018.

Photos: Stu Mosely


  • The Sir Hubert ‘Oppy’ Opperman Medal: Rohan Dennis
  • Elite Para-cycling (female): Emilie Miller
  • Elite Para-cycling (male): Alistair Donohoe
  • Elite Track (female): Stephanie Morton
  • Elite Track (male): Men’s Team Pursuit (Alex Porter, Sam Welsford, Leigh Howard, Kelland O’Brien… also Jordan Kerby – although not referenced in formal notification of winners)
  • Elite Road (female): Amanda Spratt
  • Elite Road (male): Rohan Dennis
  • Elite MTB (female): Tracey Hannah
  • Elite MTB (male): Sam Hill
  • Elite BMX (female): Saya Sakakibara
  • Elite BMX (male): Logan Martin
  • Junior Cyclist of the Year (overall):Luke Plapp
  • Junior Track (female): Sarah Gigante
  • Junior Track (male): Lucas Plapp
  • Junior Road (female): Sarah Gigante
  • Junior Road (male): Lucas Plapp
  • Junior MTB (male): Kye A’Hern
  • Junior MTB (female): Zoe Cuthbert
  • Junior BMX (male): Kye Affo
  • Junior BMX (female): Ashlee Miller
  • Masters Track (female): Anna Whitten
  • Masters Track (male): Geoff Stoker
  • Masters Road (female): Anna Davis
  • Masters Road (male): Roger Cull
  • Coach of the Year:Tim Decker
  • Under-23 Award:Sam Welsford
  • JLT Moment of the Year: Brodie Chapman

Caroline Buchanan and Amanda Spratt (above).

The awards luncheon was also used to induct four new people to the Cycling Australia ‘Hall of Fame’.

Danny Clark, Michelle Ferris, Mick Turtur and Glenn Jacobs are the latest to be included in the ‘Hall of Fame’ which was instigated only a few years ago.


  • Sweet salute from Raphael Freienstein at the Tour of Brisbane. Ah, Is that a bell?
#NRS #cycling @inform_tminsight_make
  • Hey guys. Stuey here! I’m back on the @ridecyclingmedia IG following an action packed, Classics mad week with @mummucycling . From Flanders, we hit the Ardennes to tackle the trio of Classics there, finishing off superbly by riding the @amstelgoldrace finale today. A treat to have smooth roads and sunshine on our backs, following a cobble-crazy week.
We also had the pleasure of catching up with this legend ☝️ @eddymerckx525 which was an honour for us all and a very cool experience for our guests. 👑🙌🏻
The fun and games continue this weekend as we head to my favourite...the Queen of the Classics @parisroubaixcourse for a bit of fun in hell 😜.
Tomorrow our crew will tackle the Paris-Roubaix challenge which will be an awesome opportunity to ride some of the races famous sectors and see just how brutal the pavé can be. We’ll then be kicking back Sunday to enjoy all the action and conclude our trip on a high. It’s been real and can’t wait to round it off with the big one this weekend!
I’ll be sharing our progress and some live action on the IG story here, so be sure to tune in!
  • Rubbing shoulders with the locals. Always amusing. @rondevanvlaanderenofficial

Sign up for RIDE News

Month by Month (archives)

Share This