A team of four will represent Australia at the track worlds in 2018. Never mind the membership, this is cycling administration in the modern world.

In 2017, Australia topped the medal tally at the track world championships, posted some world-class times, and introduced a new high performance manager to the national team.

Simon Jones made his debut in (new) Australian colours at the worlds in Hong Kong last April and today Cycling Australia announced the team that will attend the 2018 championships in Apeldoorn in the Netherlands (28 Feb-4 March).

It’s a short list. Four names in total.

Never mind defending the team pursuit crown. Never mind giving Jordan Kerby the chance to defend his individual pursuit world title. Never mind the fact that spending has been redistributed and that track cycling has become the priority for Cycling Australia. Never mind the fact that this could be a great opportunity to promote cycling at that low ebb in the cycle for a discipline which is on the wane.

Track cycling is what the high performance unit is fixated on, but only four Australians will go to the world championships in 2018!

Here’s the list of riders:

  • Stephanie Morton (SA)
  • Matthew Glaetzer (SA)
  • Cameron Meyer (WA)
  • Callum Scotson (SA)


That’s it.

(And the only non-South Australian, Meyer, is listed as South Australian on the official release.)


Yes, there are justifications. Yes, this is what we’ve come to expect from Simon Jones. Yes, he’s going to say that the quest is medals – Olympic medals… Oh, Tokyo! That’s the focus. The only focus.

Never mind what the vast majority of cyclists in Australia do. Never mind the fact that this announcement was made mid-way through the women’s criterium at the national championships. Never mind what the membership thinks of the policies being enacted.

This is cycling in Australia in 2018.


What a great shame that it has come to this.

How embarrassing.



– By Rob Arnold