The names are in, the riders have arrived, the scene is set: racing in South Australia’s ‘Festival of Cycling’ begins on the weekend. Here is the full list of starters for the 20th edition of the Santos Tour Down Under.

The 20th edition of the Santos Tour Down Under is just around the corner. It began as a concept to try and lure people to South Australia and the race has certainly achieved that objective. It is a tourism initiative and it works. Year on year, more and more cycling fans arrive to watch some of the world’s best riders get the international racing season underway.

It’s the first round of the 2018 WorldTour and it begins next Tuesday.

Okay, yes… there is a race on Sunday featuring all the riders from the Santos Tour Down Under, it’s the People’s Choice Classic – a 50.6km criterium on the streets of Adelaide. But the TDU proper begins on 18 January.

It’s a star-studded cast of riders, including the defending champion, Tasmania’s Richie Porte, and the three-time world champion, Peter Sagan from Slovakia.

The list of competitors for the 20th Tour Down Under has been building steadily but it was finalised yesterday with the announcement of the seven riders for the Australian composite squad sponsored by UniSA.


Below is the full list of starters for 2018.


* * * * *

Richie Porte (above) is back to defend his title with an impressive BMC Racing roster that includes three former champions of the Santos Tour Down Under.

Photo: Graham Watson

BMC Racing (USA)
1 Richie Porte (AUS) BMC
2 Tom Bohli (SUI) BMC
3 Simon Gerrans (AUS) BMC
4 Danilo Wyss (SUI) BMC
5 Miles Scotson (AUS) BMC
6 Patrick Bevin (NZL) BMC
7 Rohan Dennis (AUS) BMC
Bora-Hansgrohe (GER)
11 Peter Sagan (SVK) BOH
12 Daniel Oss (ITA) BOH
13 Sam Bennett (IRL) BOH
14 Maciej Bodnar (POL) BOH
15 Peter Kennaugh (GBR) BOH
16 Rudiger Selig (GER) BOH
17 Jay McCarthy (AUS) BOH
Mitchelton-Scott (AUS)
21 Caleb Ewan (AUS) MTS
22 Daryl Impey (RSA) MTS
23 Alex Edmondson (AUS) MTS
24 Mathew Hayman (AUS) MTS
25 Jack Bauer (NZL) MTS
26 Damien Howson (AUS) MTS
27 Cameron Meyer (AUS) MTS
Lotto-Soudal (BEL)
31 André Greipel (GER) LTS
32 Adam Hansen (AUS) LTS
33 Thomas De Gendt (BEL) LTS
34 Lars Bak Ytting (DEN) LTS
35 Marcel Sieberg (GER) LTS
36 Bjorg Lambrecht (BEL) LTS
37 Jens Debusschere (BEL) LTS
UAE Team Emirates (UAE)
41 Rui Costa (POR) UAD
42 Diego Ulissi (ITA) UAD
43 Simone Consonni (ITA) UAD
44 Manuele Mori (ITA) UAD
45 Matteo Bono (ITA) UAD
46 Marco Marcato (ITA) UAD
47 Roberto Ferrari (ITA) UAD
Team Bahrain-Merida (BRN)
61 Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) BRN
62 Ion Izagirre (ESP) BRN
63 Gorka Izagirre (ESP) BRN
64 Manuele Boaro (ITA) BRN
65 Ramunas Navardauskas (LTH) BRN
66 Yukiya Arashiro (JAP) BRN
67 Valerio Agnoli (ITA) BRN
EF Education First-Drapac powered by Cannondale (USA)
71 Simon Clarke (AUS) EFD
72 Brendan Canty (AUS) EFD
73 Thomas Scully (NZL) EFD
74 Daniel Moreno (ESP) EFD
75 Logan Owen (USA) EFD
76 Will Clarke (AUS) EFD
77 Mitchell Docker (AUS) EFD
Team Sunweb (GER)
81 Nikias Arndt (GER) SUN
82 Chad Haga (USA) SUN
83 Phil Bauhaus (GER) SUN
84 Mike Teunissen (NED) SUN
85 Chris Hamilton (AUS) SUN
86 Michael Storer (AUS) SUN
87 Sam Oomen (NED) SUN
AG2R La Mondiale (FRA)
91 Ben Gastauer (LUX) ALM
92 Mikael Cherel (FRA) ALM
93 Matteo Montaguti (ITA) ALM
94 Pierre Latour (FRA) ALM
95 Nans Peters (FRA) ALM
96 Stijn Vandenbergh (BEL) ALM
97 Axel Domont (FRA) ALM
Astana Pro Team (KAZ)
101 Luis Léon Sanchez Gil (ESP) AST
102 Laurens De Vreese (BEL) AST
103 Oscar Gatto (ITA) AST
104 Michael Valgren (DNK) AST
105 Artyom Zakharov (KAZ) AST
106 Truls Korsæth (NOR) AST
107 Riccardo Minali (ITA) AST
Team Katusha-Alpecin (SUI)
111 Nathan Haas (AUS) TKA
112 Jose Goncalves (POR) TKA
113 Pavel Kochetkov (RUS) TKA
114 Maurits Lammertink (NED) TKA
115 Tiago Machado (POR) TKA
116 Jhonatan Restrepo (COL) TKA
117 Mads Schmidt (DEN) TKA
121 Steve Morabito (SUI) FDJ
122 Antoine Duchesne (CAN) FDJ
123 Daniel Hoelgaard (NOR) FDJ
124 Anthony Roux (FRA) FDJ
125 Georg Preidler (AUT) FDJ
126 Davide Cimolai (ITA) FDJ
127 Matthieu Ladagnous (FRA) FDJ
Movistar (ESP)
131 Carlos Barbero (ESP) MOV
132 Nuno Matos (POR) MOV
133 Marc Soler (COL) MOV
134 Ruben Fernandez (ESP) MOV
135 Jaime Castrillo (ESP) MOV
136 Nelson Oliveira (POR) MOV
137 Jasha Sutterlin (GER) MOV
Quickstep Floors (BEL)
141 Elia Viviani (ITA) QST
142 Eros Capecchi (ITA) QST
143 Dries Devenyns (BEL) QST
144 Fabio Sabatini (ITA) QST
145 Michael Morkov (DEN) QST
146 Florian Senechal (FRA) QST
147 Enric Mas Nicolau (ESP) QST
Team Lotto NL-Jumbo (NED)
151 Maarten Wynants (BEL) LTJ
152 Robert Wagner (GER) LTJ
153 Enrico Battaglin (ITA) LTJ
154 Daan Olivier (NED) LTJ
155 George Bennett (NZL) LTJ
156 Thomas Leezer (NED) LTJ
157 Robert Gesink (NED) LTJ
Team Sky (GBR)
161 Salvatore Puccio (ITA) SKY
162 Lukasz Wisniowski (POL) SKY
163 Egan Bernal (COL) SKY
164 Jonathan Dibben (GBR) SKY
165 Owain Doull (GBR) SKY
166 Kristoffer Halvorsen (NOR) SKY
167 Christopher Lawless (GBR) SKY
Trek-Segafredo (USA)
171 Laurent Didier (LUX) TFS
172 Fumiyuki Beppu (JPN) TFS
173 Koen De Kort (NED) TFS
174 Niklas Eg (DEN) TFS
175 Alex Frame (NZL) TFS
176 Ruben Guerreiro (POR) TFS
177 Mads Pedersen (DEN) TFS
Dimension Data (RSA)
Scott Davies  (GBR) DDD
Nic Dlamini  (RSA) DDD
Lachlan Morton  (AUS) DDD
Ben O’Connor  (AUS) DDD
Mark Renshaw  (AUS) DDD
Tom-Jelte Slagter  (NED) DDD
Jaco Venter  (RSA) DDD
Team UniSA (AUS)
Alex Porter (AUS) UNI
Nathan Earle (AUS) UNI
Sam Welsford (AUS) UNI
Scott Bowden (AUS) UNI
Steele von Hoff (AUS) UNI
Timothy Roe (AUS) UNI
Zak Dempster (AUS) UNI


*Note: team announced but race numbers not yet allocated for UniSA or Dimension Data riders.

Photo: Graham Watson

RIDE Media will be back at the race again in 2018, celebrating 20 successive ‘starts’ at the Tour Down Under. I’ve seen every stage of the TDU over the first 19 years and look forward to seeing six more this year.

We’ll be bringing you coverage from the race, interviews with riders (and others associated with the race), product reviews and insights from the peloton. It’s an exciting time for cycling in Australia. If you’re going to be in South Australia, enjoy the festivities. If you’re watching from afar, enjoy the coverage on; be sure to let me know what features you’d like to see and I’ll see what we can do.


– Rob