[et_pb_section bb_built=”1″ admin_label=”section”][et_pb_row admin_label=”row”][et_pb_column type=”1_4″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left” use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid”]

Later this month, two more women will join the celebrated list of cyclists on Cycling Australia’s Hall of Fame. 

[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][et_pb_column type=”3_4″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left” use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid”]

Earlier today it was announced that two riders with a track cycling pedigree will be inducted into Cycling Australia’s ‘Hall of Fame’. Julie Speight, 51, and Katie Henderson (nee Mactier), 42, are the two riders who will receive this honour in 2017.

The formalities will be part of the Cyclist of the Year celebrations at a luncheon in Melbourne on Friday 17 November.


– Cycling Australia’s overview: Julie Speight and Katie Henderson


It’s a fine selection with both sprint and endurance cyclists represented. Both riders have achieved impressive results on the national and international stage and paved the way for others to follow their lead.

Speight holds the honour of being the first Australian woman to represent Australia at the Olympic Games (in Seoul in 1988, where she finished fifth in the sprint competition won by Erika Salumäe of the USSR).

Two of Speight’s compatriots have since earned medals in the sprint competition at the Olympic Games, Michelle Ferris and Anna Meares.

Henderson, meanwhile, combined her racing on both track and road. One of her most publicised results came in 2004 when she took the silver medal in the individual pursuit at the Athens Olympics behind New Zealand rival, Sarah Ulmer (who broke her own world record with her winning ride at those Games).

The individual pursuit is no longer part of the Olympic program but Henderson was pivotal in putting the discipline in the spotlight during her competitive years. She was the world champion in the event in 2005, contested over 3,000m at the time.


Cycling Australia began the Hall of Fame two years ago. Speight and Henderson will join a list that is comprised of the following riders:

  • Sir Hubert Opperman
  • Russel Mockridge
  • Dunc Gray
  • Sid Patterson
  • Phil Anderson
  • Kathy Watt
  • Anna Wilson
  • Robbie McEwen
  • Sara Carrigan
  • Ray Godkin
  • Charlie Walsh
  • Gerry Ryan
  • Ryan Bayley
  • Oenone Wood
  • Mary Grigson
  • Chris Scott
  • Iris Bent
  • Alf Goullet

A condition of entry is that the rider has to have been retired from competition for at least a year.


* * * * *


Click here for more commentary from RIDE Media about the ‘Hall of Fame’ concept.