In the 17 seasons that Mathew Hayman has been a professional cyclist, he’s missed only two editions of Paris-Roubaix. The champion of the 114th edition was often a domestique for others but his passion for the event has seen him elevated to leadership status.

In 2016, the year of his success, an injury meant he was given freedom: to ride team tactics but also seize any chances that may arise.

He made the break “around the 75km mark” and eventually led Tom Boonen and Ian Stannard over the finish line.

Here is a summary of his 15 starts in Paris-Roubaix… and his 15 finishes.


YearWinnerHaymantime differenceHayman’s Team
2000Johan Museeuw65th14’32” Rabobank
2001Servais Knaven49th22’52” Rabobank
2002Johan Museeuw50th25’29” Rabobank
2003Peter van Petegem26th2’28” Rabobank
2004Magnus Backstedt Rabobank
2005Tom Boonen78th15’34” Rabobank
2006Fabian Cancellara23rd6’49” Rabobank
2007Stuart O’Grady Rabobank
2008Tom Boonen113th29’35” Rabobank
2009Tom Boonen21st6’32” Rabobank
2010Fabian Cancellara24th7’05”Team Sky
2011Johan Vansummeren10th47″Team Sky
2012Tom Boonen8th3’31”Team Sky
2013Fabian Cancellara52nd3’32”Team Sky
2014Niki Terpstra41st4’14”Orica-GreenEdge
2015John Degenkolb76th7’50”Orica-GreenEdge
2016Mathew Hayman1stOrica-GreenEdge