[et_pb_section bb_built=”1″ admin_label=”section”][et_pb_row admin_label=”row”][et_pb_column type=”1_4″][et_pb_text use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid” _builder_version=”3.9″]

Those who are superstitious may be a little concerned about the seventh stage at the 2018 Tour de France, it’s falls on Friday the 13th.

[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][et_pb_column type=”3_4″][et_pb_text use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid” _builder_version=”3.9″]

The longest stage of the 2018 Tour de France happens to fall on Friday the 13th. Some believe it to be an unlucky day – but that’s just superstition, right?

Early in the history of the race, there would be a rest day after each stage and thus the first three times that a Friday the 13th fell while the Tour was being contested, there was a rest day. Coincidence? Maybe.

The most recent winner of a stage of the Tour de France on this date is David Millar (pictured) who claimed a victory in Annonay on a day when it took around 100km to establish the so-called ‘early break’. The escapees held off the peloton and the Brit celebrated his first win at the Tour since his suspension for issues relating to doping.

This year, it will be the 15th time that there has been a Friday the 13th in July since the inception of the Tour in 1903.

For the sake of interest, here is a summary of the stage winners and leaders of GC on this ‘unlucky’ day.

[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][et_pb_row][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.9″]

YearStageStage winnerRace leader
1906Rest dayRené Pottier (FRA)
1917Rest dayPhilippe Thys (BEL)
1923Rest dayHenri Pélissier (FRA)
192820Maurice Dewaele (BEL)Nicolas Frantz (LUX)
193410René Le Grevès (FRA)Antonin Magne (FRA)
1945— No Tour that year
19519Raphaël Géminiani (FRA)Roger Lévêque (FRA)
19569Roger Hassenforder (FRA)Roger Walkowiak (FRA)
196220Jacques Anquetil (FRA)Jacques Anquetil (FRA)
197312a Luis Ocaña (ESP)Luis Ocaña (ESP)
197312b Lucien van Impe (BEL)Luis Ocaña (ESP)
197916Lucien van Impe (BEL)Bernard Hinault (FRA)
198415Fréderic Vichot (FRA)Vincent Barteau (FRA)
1990Rest dayClaudio Chiappucci (ITA)
20076Tom Boonen (BEL)Fabian Cancellara (SUI)
201212David Millar (GBR)Bradley Wiggins (GBR)