The Australian Cycling Team has confirmed the riders selected to start the UCI Road World Championships in Wollongong (18-25 September 2022).


The appeal process has been finalised and AusCycling, in collaboration with the Australian Cycling Team, has confirmed which riders will represent Australia in the worlds in Wollongong next month.

The riders to wear the green and gold jersey include the elite women’s national time trial champion, Grace Brown, but not the winner of the road race, Nicole Frain.

Meanwhile, the elite men’s selection includes the road race national champion, Luke Plapp, but not the Australian time trial champion Rohan Dennis.

The under-23 selection doesn’t include the winners of the national championship road race or time trial, Blake Quick and Carter Turnbull, respectively.

That broad overview is of little relevance as the nationals in January are certainly not indicative of the kind of form that is required late in the season.

AusCycling’s Elite Road Co-ordinator, Rory Sutherland, and the Executive General Manager – Performance, Jesse Korf will host a media conference at 3.00pm on Friday to explain their rider choice and their ambitions for the worlds in Wollongong.


Elite women

  • Georgia Baker (TAS)
  • Grace Brown (VIC)
  • Brodie Chapman (QLD)
  • Alexandra Manly (SA)
  • Sarah Roy (NSW)
  • Amanda Spratt (NSW)
  • Josie Talbot (NSW)

Elite men

  • Simon Clarke (VIC)
  • Luke Durbridge (WA)
  • Heinrich Haussler (NSW)
  • Jai Hindley (WA)
  • Michael Matthews (ACT)
  • Ben O’Connor (WA)
  • Lucas Plapp (VIC)
  • Nicholas Schultz (QLD)

Under-23 men

  • Matthew Dinham (NSW)
  • Dylan George (NSW)
  • Dylan Hopkins (ACT)
  • Jensen Plowright (VIC)
  • Rudy Porter (VIC)

Junior team selection announced in June

The junior selection for the Australian Cycling Team at the 2022 worlds was announced on 30 June (see below). It includes riders from the ACT, Tasmania, Queensland, Victoria and New South Wales.

Junior men

  • Oscar Chamberlain (ACT) Canberra Cycling Club
  • Cameron Rogers (ACT) Canberra Cycling Club
  • Hamish McKenzie (TAS) Northern Districts Cycling Club
  • William Eaves (TAS) City of Burnie Cycling Club

Junior women

  • Isabelle Carnes (QLD) Balmoral Cycling Club
  • Lucinda Stewart (VIC) Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club
  • Bronte Stewart (NSW) Tolland Cycling Club
  • Talia Appleton (VIC) Mansfield Mt Buller Cycling Club
  • Belinda Bailey (VIC) Bendigo & District Cycling Club


Stay up to date with news about the world championships and follow RIDE’s social media portals and/or

You can already find plenty of news items and course previews. Search #Wollongong2022 and/or #VisitWollongong for more.